Manasses National Battlefield Park located north of Manassas, Virginia preserves the site of two major American Civil War battles.
The first Battle of Bull Run on July 21, 1861 and the second Battle of Bull Run, which was fought between August 28, 1862 – August 30, 1862 (also known as the first and second Battle of Manassas).
The peaceful Virginia countryside bore witness to clashes between the Union and Confederacy, and it was here that Confederate General Thomas J. Jackson got his nickname “Stonewall”.
On July 21, 1862 two armies clashed for the first time on the fields overlooking Bull Run Creek. Heavy fighting swept away any notion of a quick war.
In August 1862, Union and Confederate armies converged for a second time on the plans of Manassas. The Confederates won a solid victory bringing them to the height of their power.
More than 900,000 people visit the battlefield each year.
Park is open daily sun up to sunset. Henry Hill Visitor Center open daily 8:30 – 5:00; Brawners Farm Interpretive Center open daily 9:00 – 5:00; Stone House open weekends only 10:00 – 4:30 (building open daily starting starting Memorial Day Weekend). $0/entrance fee